This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

9.2 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.5
Comfort
9.2
Property location
8.9
Facilities
9.1
Staff
9.6
Value
9.1
Reviews
    Liss
    au
    10
    1 January 2018
    Perfect.
    Host goes out of his way to ensure your needs are met and provides best advice on local tourist free sites. Perfect stay. No complaints.
    Great local advice on hikes and activities, Highly recommend the breakfast and lunch ...was great for hiking. Great central location. Cleanest accommodation..better than 5 star. Generous hospitality. It was great to take all stress out and have host organise car rental, breakfast and lunch. Dinner we were happy with noodles available on site.
    Gunilla
    jp
    7.9
    25 December 2017
    Friendly welcome in Yakushima, morinokake Cottage is a very family friendly place.
    Breakfast prepared by Nakashima san's staff was very nice, a true blessing ahead of a long 4 hours hiking in the moutains. Cottages are very clean, well equipped, and well suited to groups ( Futons are western sizes friendly :) . Excellent quality to price ratio .
    jp
    10
    26 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Carmen
    au
    10
    9 November 2017
    The cottage was beautiful and comfortable, had tea and coffee and free wifi and was soooo spacious!
    The place was amazing and spacious and the host was so helpful in organising tours and transport for us. Best place we stayed in our whole trip! We absolutely loved it.
    Emily
    au
    10
    8 November 2017
    Definitely recommend Yakushima for anyone who enjoys nature
    The beds were super comfy but the pillows were not
    The owner went above all expectations to accommodate us. Arranging special bedding for our baby and booking a restaurant for dinner along with a pick up/drop off so we could have a drink. Very kind and friendly gave us some good tips to see around the island too.
    国霞
    cn
    10
    2 November 2017
    perfect
    Though it is hard to find a convenience shop,the food provided by tje landlord is veryyyy delicious!
    Iwan Peeters
    nl
    9.6
    24 October 2017
    Complex could use 1 more shower.
    Super helpfull and friendly owner. Nice personal touches in the cottages and other buildings. Very unique. Clean and a good location.
    Kelvin
    hk
    7.5
    23 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    hk
    10
    1 September 2017
    Good English and good suggestions of hiking location
    Patricia
    se
    10
    29 August 2017
    Short but wonderful!
    It was fresh, clean and the host was incredibly friendly and spoke excellent English! The place was so cosy and it came with toothbrushes and even pads if you were to get your period which was amazing cause there wasn't really any stores around! If you stay here (or anywhere on Yakushima really) I would recommend renting a car!
    Alison
    gb
    10
    30 July 2017
    Mr Nakasima was so very welcoming and very helpful, going above and beyond to make our stay memorable.
    XUELIN
    cn
    10
    28 July 2017
    Lovely!!!
    ☺Cozy and lovely room ☺Good view ☺Helpful staff! ☺Near to bus station
    Lauren
    jp
    9.6
    19 July 2017
    Beautiful cottage setting, so cosy inside and very clean. Hammocks to relax in and comfy futon! The owner Nakashima san and his wife helped us out planning our itinerary before we arrived including booking a rental car and lots of other helpful suggestions including making early morning bentos to bring hiking etc! We stayed 3 night and would have happily done another 3+
    Emmanuel
    fr
    10
    16 July 2017
    In this guesthouse we had a lodge instead of just a room, that meant a lot more space and individual toilets, sink and fridge. The owner is very nice and helpful, even going as far as to drive us to the scooter rental shop and introduce us to them.
    DANYAN
    cn
    10
    14 June 2017
    Special house. Recommended.
    Special house. Shared bathroom and independent toilet. It has most comfortable bed during my trip.
    ca
    6.7
    1 June 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    de
    10
    21 May 2017
    The owner is extremely nice and incredibly helpful. Breakfast and the take away lunches are awesome.
    de
    9.6
    20 May 2017
    Nice cottages
    -
    Lovely cottage concept, village like, with much attention to detail. Very nice and supportive owner, car arrangements possible (international permit required!)
    yan kit
    hk
    10
    18 May 2017
    Happy trip
    None
    Very friendly owner. Great hospitality.
    VinniPukh
    de
    10
    3 May 2017
    Pure Cottage Awesomeness!
    From all our hotels, ryokans and cottages during our trip around Japan Cottage Morinokokage was one of the best by far. The family and staff around Ryosaku Nakashima was unbelievably kind, the kids do even speak German (a tiny bit ;D). They took care of all our needs as best as possible, even provided us with glue for my broken shoe. :D They also took care of the reservation of a rental car, which is definitely recommended to have when exploring the island. We stayed there for 4 nights, but the property is great for staying weeks or even months (if you have the time) on Yakushima. The atmosphere is so relaxed. Enjoying the calm during the sunset while lying in the hammock on the terrace with a can of beer is indescribably awesome. Sure, you have to be lucky with the weather, so be sure to always eat up as long as you are there. ;D Dear Ryosaku-san, thank you for everything! We promise to come back! :) And we are - of course - awaiting you here in Munich. ;)
Loading reviews
Close